Sign in to follow this  
MichaelDuPreez

I Won! Now I Have Questions.

So Ive been entering the DV GC lottery for two years running.

I checked the website on the 16th Of July 2011, and I was notified that I have been selected for further processing. Yay! :D

I never realized the process would be so drawn out, and so complicated. There is certainly lots to do.

I have been pouring over other forum posts to gather as much info as I could get, but I still have two questions.

1) When can I expect the first notification letter? Is it shortly after the draw? Or do they only send the notification letter close processing your 'cutoff group' (I am AF 000 41xxx). I have all my documents and photos ready. Should I send them now? Or do I wait for first notification letter?

2) On the DSP 230 form, under question 10 and 11, they ask for a US address which I dont have. Many forums I have seen people say to mark both of these as N/A for the time being and submit the forms. Only once you arrive at a 'port of entry' is this information taken down, and then that is the address where your green card and SSN will be mailed to. It should be fixed and not change, as this will only cause confusion. Now my question is, for those that didn't have US addresses at this point, what did you do? I don't have any family or friends in the US. Should I try set up a PO BOX online in the state that I'm aiming for and use this address?

Thanks guys.

PS. Already getting cold feet as its one thing to enter the green card lottery, its another thing to know that within a year you could have a green card in your hand, and would need to leave everything behind if you do decide to use the opportunity.

Edited by MichaelDuPreez

Firstly... congratulations. I have been trying since 2006 and finally won this year. :D