Sign in to follow this  
MarkMartinovic

Eb-2 Visa Application

Does anyone have experience of applying for this type of visa. I would like to open an office in the US and apply for an immigrant visa. I have been running a successful consulting company in SA for 13 years and we work all over sub-Saharan Africa. We now want to open an office in the US servicing north and south America

I'm no expert but not sure EB2 applies to you. Apart from the fact that you need a job offer from a US company, even if you open up an office to do this USCIS says:

"As DOL regulations prohibit the issuance of labor certifications in self-employment scenarios, an entrepreneur will generally be unable to file an EB-2 visa petition unless he or she qualifies for a National Interest Waiver (NIW) exempting the entrepreneur from the job offer requirement and, thus, the labor certification. Even if you are not self-employed, it may still be challenging for you to obtain a labor certification if you have a significant ownership interest in the company, if there is a familial relationship between you and the stockholders, corporate officers, incorporators, or partners, or if you are one of a small number of employees. If any of these factors apply, your employer must be able to demonstrate that a bona fide job opportunity exists such that the position is open and available to U.S. workers."

https://www.uscis.gov/eir/visa-guide/eb-2-employment-based-second-preference/employment-based-second-preference-eb-2-visa-general-requirements

It's generally exceedingly difficult to self-sponsor a visa other than EB5 or DV. You usually need a family member or a company with a job offer to petition for a visa for you, unlike other countries where you can apply for an immigrant visa on your own behalf.

Edited by SJ27