Heidi556

Notes to maximise your credit score

I am reading much about financial considerations, and your credit score is important. I am studying this from outside, and have no practical experience, as I am preparing to emigrate to the US. Here are some notes I collected regarding managing your credit score, please add and comment.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes to maximise credit score

Three credit reporting companies: Equifax, Experian, Transunion.

You are entitled to one free credit report from each of the three above per year.

Credit score calculated from credit report.

Systems; FICO, VantageScore, …

Credit score = A number of 300 – 850, reflection of ability to repay debt.

Pay debt on time, every time.

Debt ratio: Utilization rate < 30%, < 10% better, < 7% best, do not get close to limit.

Old debts: Leave long history old debts (study load) on before paying it off too soon = good history.

Get a credit card, secured if needed, fastest way to build score.

Score boosting: Experian Boost allows access to other financial information payment history like utilities and phone lines to factor in to your credit score. UltraFICO allows access to your other banking data. 

Timing of applications: Research likelihood of approval for credit before applying, don’t want to be denied. A hard enquiry can lower score. 

Vehicle finance: Don’t let them run your ???

Dispute errors on credit report.

Pay your credit card twice a month rather than once; two smaller mountains rather than one big one.

Make payment reminders; diarize.

35% = Payment history :. Pay on time continuously.

30% = Amount owed :. Keen debt ratio’s low.

15% = Length of credit history.

10% = Number of credit accounts held or applied for.